31.1.13 Dipping a toe in

Image

Week 1; wow and very experiential, informing.

I have joined applications that previously I had acknowledged existing but avoided working in a limited circuit of fb, twitter (reader) moodle2, played in jing and prezi, pulled away from secondlife sometime ago (too many dungeons and avatars with large appendages). Have now joined a 40K strong student cohort and community from corners of the world I dream of going to. Have begun blogging with a modicom of success bar posting clips. Have met with a micro group face to face which was reassuring.

Also today on the 7am commute in towards work today at partial light; all the cars, lorries are red brakelights only. M606S turn left M62E Turn Left M1N, A64E turn right and I was in the ‘Thursday’ Grid of moving particles of information and data of the metropolis. Part of my commute are the flocks of birds in the outlines of trees and on the telegraph wires at sunrise, the occasional Red Kite. The view of magpies in contrast to a white frosted hedge. The sunlight on the flooded fields.  I have entered into the distopias/utopias visions that have been the conversations that I am holding, and observing.

My current priority task is co-ordinating the writing of the next University Access Agreement for 2014 – 15. Todays consideration is I have thought to co-ordinate it / orchestrate it/ muster it via a Moodle2 site, creating a cross university consultation group including Senior Managers and students. I like the idea of Senior Managers,  Faculty Reps, Student  Recruitment, WP, Schools Colleges Liaison and Student Unions, External Partners  and a band of Student Ambassadors being brought together within a Moodle space of information, documents and guidance with influences, data, maps, with RSS Feeds from the bodies informing this directive; Action on Access, OFFA, Access, NEON ( who incidently started to follow me in Twiitter today, I am honoured). Because I can visualise this space and I know I have worked in Moodle just enough now that I am able to deliver it. Its a good feeling because inmy mind I can compose the valuable lines to contribute to the final AA document that I know may be useful; collaboration, deepening partnerships, consultation, student voices, stakeholders, evaluation ( and e-technologies will help me there too) SurveyMonkey is probably my next software to explore as a step towards e-evaluation.

Let me just reflect on my micro group. I picked up on the Facebook pages that a previous member of the e-learning team were on EDCMOOC and that was re-assuring, an internal email brought together 4 of us from different corners of the University, When 3 of us met this week in the cafe area it was evident the differing levels of knowledge of technologies ( I rate myself as low knowledge) differing expectations of what they were going to get out of the participation of the EDCMOOC. But we were bringing different views to the coffee table, we may meet again also the E Learning team have initiated some breakfast cafe meetings soon.

I am becoming aware of the ripples of community and learner support going on here; from peer, immediate community (I am the only one in the team I am working with an interest in this, it makes me feel slightly alienated, on the edge), but then also within the city, country and the rest of the world; the global community.

Influence and support is complex and multilayered, multigridded, can that approach aid my role?

About martell2013

Progression Manager, widening participation. MA , FHEA. SEDA SLT .
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 31.1.13 Dipping a toe in

  1. bwatwood says:

    “I am becoming aware of the ripples of community and learner support going on here; from peer, immediate community (I am the only one in the team I am working with an interest in this, it makes me feel slightly alienated, on the edge), but then also within the city, country and the rest of the world; the global community.”

    Neat observation…and one I am seeing here in Richmond VA as well. I had a faculty member from our medical campus drop in this morning because she had seen my name float across the Facebook page for the class…and she wanted to discuss the first week.

  2. Pingback: Learning In a Flat World - EDCMOOC Thoughts on Social Side

Leave a Reply

